chipping

ECU modding, chipping, soldering, etc.

Moderators: RedRacer, Moderators

dougler
Lude Dude
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 7:37 pm

chipping

Postby dougler » Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:50 pm

on ebay there are several different "chips" for my car. the say they can add up to 100 hp to my car is this really true? all it does is change the fuel curve right? and would i burn alot more gas? thanks

User avatar
spiffyguido
Moderator
Posts: 2196
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 2:55 am
Prelude Model: 1991 SE-SR
Location: Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Postby spiffyguido » Thu Apr 03, 2008 5:09 pm

I would say that in all likelihood those chips are a complete load of bunka. Although a car can be rechipped for more power, 100hp is a lot to get out of a chip.

If you're interested in re-chipping your car, your best bet is to get a legitimate engine management system or rechip your stock ECU.

Hondata makes great ECU units.

If you have a B21 engine, you'll have a much easier time chipping your car than if you have other engines. The B21 runs on the OBD1 system which can be easily chipped where as the other 3rd gen ludes run OBD0. www.pgmfi.org is a great resource for this type of information.

Yes, many chips manifest more power by changing the fuel curve, and probably just do it by dumping more gas into the cylinder. You could accomplish similar things by just putting in bigger injectors.

User avatar
spiffyguido
Moderator
Posts: 2196
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 2:55 am
Prelude Model: 1991 SE-SR
Location: Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Postby spiffyguido » Thu Apr 03, 2008 5:11 pm

There's a snippet of information about the PK2 ECU in our Wiki. The PK2 is for a B20A5 engine. The B21A1 uses a PK3.

http://www.preludedriver.com/wiki/index.php5?title=PK2

This thread also contains a bit of info:

viewtopic.php?t=170

CADster
Lude Dude
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 2:21 pm

Re: chipping

Postby CADster » Mon Apr 28, 2008 2:37 pm

dougler wrote:on ebay there are several different "chips" for my car. the say they can add up to 100 hp to my car is this really true? all it does is change the fuel curve right? and would i burn alot more gas? thanks


no.. none are true with our ECUs.

our ECU cant be chipped (no room on teh board).
you got to get another ECU, like a P28 or some other honda ECU, then you chip that ECU.

http://www.xenocron.com/

you will also need a special obd1 harness.. our prelude harness is different then the other (cough civic) harness.

http://www.boomslang.us/

User avatar
spiffyguido
Moderator
Posts: 2196
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 2:55 am
Prelude Model: 1991 SE-SR
Location: Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Postby spiffyguido » Mon Apr 28, 2008 5:15 pm

One extra note:

If you have a B21, then you already have an OBD1 harness.




Return to “ECU Re-Chipping”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest