Second Generation Honda Prelude topics

Moderators: RedRacer, spiffyguido

cody87
Prelude Enthusiast

Post by cody87 »

Hey i have a 1987 honda prelude with ...........almost 250,000 miles on it an i bought the car to be a lil drive around car til i fixed up my 1981 camaro but now that i got the feel for honda i want to do some modifications such as a cold air intake from AEM and an intake manifold and a throttle body...........but my question is well is that really a good idea considering the mileage? it has the stock motor in it , its a 2.0 si and the guy i bought it from didnt kno his lefts from rights so with that said i never asked him what the engine was like a b20a ot b20a3 and what not but im new to this level of automotive stuff such as fuel injection and if that is a good idea i had then could u point me in the right direction for getting aftermarket parts because its hard to tell what the engine is but im 99.99% sure that it is a b20a engine according to wikipedia? and is there even modifications for my size engine cuz when i was looking i saw mods for newer vehicles with b20a engines? please help me out on this one.

Advertisement

PreludeDriver.com

spiffyguido
Prelude Model: 1991 SE-SR

Re: newbie

Post by spiffyguido »

The engine can be easily identified by looking at the engine stamp. Just look on the front of the engine where the engine block meets the transmission bell housing. Near flywheel timing port (small square opening), there will be a flat section on the engine with the serial number and the engine model.

Even with the high mileage, a cold air intake is still a good idea, especially a quality one like what AEM makes.

cody87
Prelude Enthusiast

Post by cody87 »