no fuel/spark

Fourth Generation Honda Prelude topics

Moderators: RedRacer, spiffyguido

fearfat
Prelude Enthusiast

no fuel/spark

Post by fearfat »

hi everyone..prelude newbie here... i just bought a 92 for $500..its in awesome shape just has no spark or fuel at the eng..the rotor has zero output and all fuel lines disconnected do not pump any when cycle key. it cranks and tries but since theres no go in it it obviously wont kick over... ideas? ive heard the CPS is a common issue and can prevent starting, coudl eb ECU or MAP, i really dont know..little help much appreciated.. this is a gas saver since the family rig is a loaded up saab 9-7x (5.3 V8 AWD) and i run a trailed out jeep myself.. thanks in advance
-matt

Advertisement

PreludeDriver.com

spiffyguido
Prelude Model: 1991 SE-SR

Re: no fuel/spark

Post by spiffyguido »

Hi Matt,

Welcome to PreludeDriver. We're glad you found us.

A few things I'd like you to check.

First of all, is your fuel pump working? When you turn the key to the 'on' (not start position) position after the car has bee sitting for a short while you should hear the fuel pump engage and pressurize the fuel lines. If you do this with your driver's side door open, it is really easy to hear. Check that you hear the pump.

Also, I'd like you to check and see if your engine is throwing any codes. THere are directions on how to do that:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=14

Finally, what engine do you have? Do you have the 2.2 litre. Just let us know what the stamp on your engine block says (front of engine, where the block meets the tranny bell housing).

fearfat
Prelude Enthusiast

Post by fearfat »

the fuel pump is not pressurizing, no sounds... but since there also no spark, even if i fog the intake w/starter fluid she wont kick, then saw the no spark issue.. if the ECM is f-ed up would that cause both issues?