Circle Track Racing

Third Generation Honda Prelude topics

Moderators: RedRacer, spiffyguido

Circlejerk
Prelude Enthusiast

Circle Track Racing

Post by Circlejerk »

I'm new to the Prelude and am just learning the cars.

I bought an 88 4ws and a 90 4ws to convert to circle track cars. We race in a stock 4 cylinder division, so i can't make any major changes to the engine or drive train.
I am wondering if anyone is aware of any "tuner" tips to get more horse power from my engines, possibly more torque.
Has anyone tried the 4ws on a circle track? I'm not sure if we crank the wheel far enough to make the 4ws activate...has anyone tried it? Would shifting the front alignment to one side make it react quicker?

Any tips from the Prelude Pro's would be greatly appreciated!!!!

Advertisement

PreludeDriver.com

91darkness
Prelude Guru
Prelude Model: 3rd gen 91 Si ALB

Re: Circle Track Racing

Post by 91darkness »

I would start with the basics. HE54 NGK wires $38.18, NGK Laser Series Platinum spark plugs #4363 $12.07/each, An air intake(modified) or K&N drop in. Exhaust: depending on how much you want to spend on the exhaust will determine that setup. These things will provide some basic horsepower gains, but again it all depends on a budget. I think between everyone on this site, we could tell you what setups we have used.

spiffyguido
Prelude Model: 1991 SE-SR

Post by spiffyguido »

+1 for intake and exhaust. Minor gains to be had there. More power can be found with new cams, forced induction, etc.

I'm not sure how 4ws would be on the track. There's another member (ticus007) on this forum that races a 3rd gen. You might want to get in touch with them: memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=1819

Circlejerk
Prelude Enthusiast

Post by Circlejerk »

Motor needs to be "stock". Or at least stock appearing. i was wondering about injectors, air injection, timing, anything to bump her up a bit. No headers or cams allowed. Not sure if I can get away with the K&N that's in it.