Need advice on changind a head gasket on 1990 prelude help!

Third Generation Honda Prelude topics

Moderators: RedRacer, spiffyguido

higginso
Prelude Enthusiast

Need advice on changind a head gasket on 1990 prelude help!

Post by higginso »

im new to this honda head gasket replacement. ive always been a jeep person, but i got this car for free. i figure i would try to change it myself not only to save money but because i want to learn how to do this and learn what i am looking at. I pick up quick but i have never done this before so please if anyone could give me any helpful advice i would be very greatful. so far i have the valve cover, distributer, time belt casing off. what else do i have to take off and which bolts actually hold the head to the top of the motor?

Also the gasket(s?) that i am replacing, is it the gasket that goes between the head and the motor? and is it just one gasket that i am replacing? and while i have the head off/tore appart is there anything else i should maybe fix just for the heck of it? so i dont have to come take this all back appart a week after its fixed. i tried to d/l the manual but my cpu is old an want let me.

Advertisement

PreludeDriver.com

spiffyguido
Prelude Model: 1991 SE-SR

Re: Need advice on changind a head gasket on 1990 prelude he

Post by spiffyguido »