High Pressure Power Steering Hose

Third Generation Honda Prelude topics

Moderators: RedRacer, spiffyguido

pmg88
Lude Dude

High Pressure Power Steering Hose

Post by pmg88 »

Has anybody replaced their high pressure feed power steering hose? It looks like mine is leaking and dripping on to
the manifold/ Torque converter area ( see my post Mild Leak). I know the part is expensive $145 and I've heard
a real pain to replace.

BTW. This is for 1989 SI with 4WS.

Its mildly leaking from what looks like a coupling in the hose ( where a smaller bit comes out from what looks like shieldin?)
Do I need to replace the hose completely or anyone know of a quicker and cheaper fix?

Thanks.

Advertisement

PreludeDriver.com

spiffyguido
Prelude Model: 1991 SE-SR

Re: High Pressure Power Steering Hose

Post by spiffyguido »

You'll have to replace the hose.

I've never done this before, although I have pulled off both ends of it. Chances are the biggest pain of the whole operation is going to be snaking it through the engine bay. Make note of the route it takes when you pull the old one off.

If you're short on cash, this is the type of part that would be totally acceptable to source from a self-self auto wrecker. Is there a Pick N' Pull near you?

pmg88
Lude Dude

Post by pmg88 »

I was afraid that there is no quick-fix. There are Pick and Pull type places nearby however, I've read online that the
PS hose was a problem to the effect that there was a recall for the 88 models. Problem is Honda will not honnor the recall for 89s even though it is virtually the same car and same part. Also I'd hate to get one and have the sme problem occur later on.

How flammable is PS fluid? Some Luders who have had the same problem have complained of engine bay fires caused by spraying PS fluid. My leak doesn't quite touch the exhaust manifold. Instead it drips down onto the top of the torque converter and down.

spiffyguido
Prelude Model: 1991 SE-SR

Post by spiffyguido »